Author Topic: 60% for 60% of the price  (Read 6548 times)

Offline funkystuhero

60% for 60% of the price
« on: Thu, 18 July 2013, 13:01:55 »
Hey guys, new guy here. I am new to this whole mech stuff, but I'm deep into it. I'm expecting a qucikfire in the mail, but I'm a DIY kinda guy, so eventually I know I'll end up making my own keyboard. I really like how simple and compact 60% keyboards are, but I feel like you're buying less for more money. I'll attempt to make a cheap little keyboard, and my ultimate goal will be to keep the cost at roughly 60% of what a retail keyboard will cost. I'll be using the Poker 2 as a reference, and I'll take its rough mean value (because of the varying switch types) is $105+~10 for shipping = 115. This limits my budget to $69.

Alright, so the first thing on my list is the plate/case. I know that an aluminum or steel plate is pretty much out of the equation, so I'll have to settle with an acrylic one. To make it more stable, I think I'll be using something along the lines of these standoffs to prevent the plate from flexing too much when used. I'll be able to get my hands on 8ft2 of 1/16" acrylic from this local shop for $24. As far as cutting it goes, as some of you may or may not know, Chicago's Harold Washington recently opened a so-called Maker-lab, which gives anyone with a library card free access to three 3d printers, a laser cutter, and a milling machine. For my project, I will be mainly interested in the laser cutter. From the articles I was able to find, this is the cutter they got, which appears to be a Full Spectrum Laser CO2 40W laser cutter. It will handle  cutting 1/16" acrylic just fine and best of all, it's free!