Author Topic: Hello I'm Gunni. I'm completely new to mechanical keyboards.  (Read 7199 times)

Offline Gunni

Hello I'm Gunni. I'm completely new to mechanical keyboards.
« on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 05:18:34 »
Hello Everyone,

Basically I want to start collecting mechanical keyboards, where do I start?

I don't know anything about mechanical keyboards, should I learn before I buy?

Can anyone recommend any wiki's or a page that will explain mechanical keyboards to a beginner like me? What are Cherry Switches? How do different switches vary? I'm very un-knowledgeable at this point.

Any recommendations for the first keyboard of my collection? (other than the Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 800 that I'm currently using)

Thanks,
Gunni :)
CM Storm Quickfire TK w/ Browns HHKB Pro 2

Offline ynrozturk

Re: Hello I'm Gunni. I'm completely new to mechanical keyboards.
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 05:33:51 »
Welcome to the forums. I'd advise you to watch a TON of YouTube videos. There aren't too many types of switches (Cherry, Topre, Alps) but each are very different. Most of the Cherry switches are different from each other, in terms of sound and feel, so like I said, watch a ton of videos.

For a good starting point, you may want to look into a Quickfire Rapid. Inexpensive and good board. If you have any stores available with mech boards, try them out.
IBM Model F | IMB Model M | Poker II MX Brown | Poker II MX Clear | Filco TKL MX Brown | Bastardized Razer Blackwidow TE MX Blue | Logitech G602 |  Cyborg R.A.T. 7 | | Logitech MX518 | Icemat  | Artisan Hien

Offline Gunni

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 03 September 2013, 06:46:28 »
Welcome to the forums. I'd advise you to watch a TON of YouTube videos. There aren't too many types of switches (Cherry, Topre, Alps) but each are very different. Most of the Cherry switches are different from each other, in terms of sound and feel, so like I said, watch a ton of videos.