Author Topic: First Project: 70% Model M  (Read 5818 times)

Offline anotherbaal

First Project: 70% Model M
« on: Thu, 14 November 2013, 02:47:36 »
I have a Model M(1391401) that I am willing to destroy/disfigure to fit on my desk.
I will be documenting the process on here. Any advice from veteran modders are welcome! This is my first project(ever)! I have never handled a power tool in my life.

I want to be clear about what I mean by 70%: usual 60% + Function row. This will allow me to leave the top part of the case intact and save lots of cutting.

The Plan:
-Chisel out the rivets to gain access to the front panel/backplate
-Cut the front panel and backplate
-Bolt-mod
-Fold the excess membrane behind the plate
-Cut the case to fit
-Reassemble
-Figure out how to program arrow keys, Pgup,Pgdn,Home, and End keys to a function layer

Well... that's easier said than done, I guess.....

I picked up a rotary tool to cut the case earlier today.
I need... a chisel, bunch of 2mmx8mm bolts and nuts, something to cut the backplate with, something to put the case pieces back together after I mangle it(epoxy? super glue? not sure yet)
More to come with pictures! stay tuned.

Offline hashbaz

• Grand Ancient One
  • * Moderator Emeritus
Re: First Project: 70% Model M
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 14 November 2013, 02:50:18 »
An ambitious first project!  Good luck and post results!

Offline bcg

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 14 November 2013, 07:42:58 »
Just some quick thoughts...