Author Topic: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]  (Read 278390 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline frosty

  • jukebox hero
  • Posts: 692
  • Location: Singapore
  • they told me i wasn't fun
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1200 on: Thu, 13 December 2018, 23:43:15 »
flip gave me "AtLibUsbDfu.dll not found". I've selected ATmega32u2 and put the board in bootloader mode. but it gives me that error.

troubleshoot section has solution for the exact problem.
https://github.com/tmk/tmk_keyboard/wiki#flash-firmware

got it, was reading the exact same page. thanks lots hasu.

Offline AllTheWayUp

  • Posts: 9
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1201 on: Sun, 16 December 2018, 02:20:26 »
So I finally have my board assembled - and I want to repmap some of the keys.

I have the map downloaded from the online editor - but I can't get DFU to compile.  Which is probably just me being stupid. 

iIs there a source for DFU or another firmware flash tool that will work on OSX? 

I do have access to a Windows machine and i can probably use flip, but I don't want to defile my new keeb by connecting it to PC hardware.

Offline merlin64

  • Posts: 1188
  • Location: Seattle, WA
    • MechMerlin
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1202 on: Mon, 17 December 2018, 10:04:03 »
So I finally have my board assembled - and I want to repmap some of the keys.

I have the map downloaded from the online editor - but I can't get DFU to compile.  Which is probably just me being stupid. 

iIs there a source for DFU or another firmware flash tool that will work on OSX? 

I do have access to a Windows machine and i can probably use flip, but I don't want to defile my new keeb by connecting it to PC hardware.

what do you mean get DFU to compile? DFU should already be compiled and ready to go when you downloaded it.

I suspect your keymap is the one that's not compiling

Offline AllTheWayUp

  • Posts: 9
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1203 on: Thu, 27 December 2018, 14:53:15 »
Ah - sorry - from reading the readme file at source-forge it seems that DFU needs to be compiled for LINIX/MAC OS. 

"dfu-programmer-x.x.x.tar.gz contains the source tree for this project.
Download this to build and install on a Linux/Unix/Mac system."

Perhaps you can tell me which file is the executable from the screenshot below?

Offline merlin64

  • Posts: 1188
  • Location: Seattle, WA
    • MechMerlin
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1204 on: Thu, 27 December 2018, 16:21:51 »
Ah - sorry - from reading the readme file at source-forge it seems that DFU needs to be compiled for LINIX/MAC OS. 

"dfu-programmer-x.x.x.tar.gz contains the source tree for this project.
Download this to build and install on a Linux/Unix/Mac system."

Perhaps you can tell me which file is the executable from the screenshot below?

These instructions are taken from the QMK docs, but you can use homebrew to install all of them

if you're using homebrew, you can use the following commands:

brew tap osx-cross/avr
brew tap PX4/homebrew-px4
brew update
brew install avr-gcc@7
brew link --force avr-gcc@7
brew install dfu-programmer
brew install dfu-util
brew install gcc-arm-none-eabi
brew install avrdude

afterwards on you terminal you can use dfu-programmer to erase the current contents, and then flash the new hex file.


Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1205 on: Thu, 27 December 2018, 17:52:43 »
Ah - sorry - from reading the readme file at source-forge it seems that DFU needs to be compiled for LINIX/MAC OS. 

"dfu-programmer-x.x.x.tar.gz contains the source tree for this project.
Download this to build and install on a Linux/Unix/Mac system."

Perhaps you can tell me which file is the executable from the screenshot below?


You can download .zip file which includes Windows executable from here. And .tar.gz is source archive and it doesn't include any executable. If you are on Mac or Linux use your favorite package manager like brew, apt, pacman...
https://sourceforge.net/projects/dfu-programmer/files/dfu-programmer/0.7.2/

EDIT: Ah, the readme already explain this as you can see ...
Quote
dfu-programmer-x.x.x.tar.gz contains the source tree for this project.
Download this to build and install on a Linux/Unix/Mac system.

dfu-programmer-win-x.x.x.zip contains the pre-compiled Windows executable
and the USB drivers for use with Atmel chips in DFU bootloader mode.

The Windows executable does not need any installation or setup. Just
extract the executable and run it.

The Windows driver can be installed when prompted by Windows when a DFU
device is attached. Do not let Windows search for a driver; specify
the path to search for a driver and point it to the .inf file.
« Last Edit: Thu, 27 December 2018, 18:02:34 by hasu »
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline abrahamstechnology

  • Posts: 194
  • Location: USA
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1206 on: Sat, 29 December 2018, 19:55:32 »
Do you know if Matias keycap sets work with the AEK plate?

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1207 on: Sun, 30 December 2018, 07:27:16 »
Do you know if Matias keycap sets work with the AEK plate?

Probably No. You need unusual 6.5u space bar for AEK layout. Matias doesn't seem to have the space bar.
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline abrahamstechnology

  • Posts: 194
  • Location: USA
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1208 on: Sun, 30 December 2018, 11:21:00 »
Do you have any plans in the future to sell a plate that supports Tai-Hao spacebars (Cherry mounts for the stabilizers, 6.25u)?

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1209 on: Sun, 30 December 2018, 13:05:09 »
Do you have any plans in the future to sell a plate that supports Tai-Hao spacebars (Cherry mounts for the stabilizers, 6.25u)?
I have no plan to do so.

Tapatalk を使用して私の WAS-LX2J から送信

TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline abrahamstechnology

  • Posts: 194
  • Location: USA
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1210 on: Sun, 30 December 2018, 15:30:14 »
Do you know a company that will make the plate out of the same material from a .svg file? Thanks.

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1211 on: Sun, 30 December 2018, 18:11:06 »
Do you know a company that will make the plate out of the same material from a .svg file? Thanks.

You mean FR-4 material? You need to design gerber files and send to pcb factory.

EDIT: For steel and other metal meterials see 'Plate' section of the first post.
« Last Edit: Sun, 30 December 2018, 18:20:10 by hasu »
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline jtPox

  • Posts: 7
  • Location: Singapore
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1212 on: Tue, 01 January 2019, 21:25:48 »
May I know if this is still being sold as I am very interested!

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1213 on: Wed, 02 January 2019, 12:58:02 »
Yes the pcb and plate are still available :-)
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline jtPox

  • Posts: 7
  • Location: Singapore
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1214 on: Wed, 02 January 2019, 13:01:07 »
Yes the pcb and plate are still available :-)

Awesome! Email sent!

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1215 on: Mon, 28 January 2019, 20:58:16 »
Alps64 pcb is currently out of stock.
It will take several weeks before pcb become available again due to Chinese New Year. I'll update first post when it is restocked.

Thank you
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Online KorbenDallas

  • Posts: 47
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1216 on: Mon, 11 February 2019, 23:35:33 »
Could I add a LED strip on the bottom with those 5v and GND open holes around the space bar location?

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1217 on: Tue, 12 February 2019, 01:42:09 »
I think so but what is your concern actually?
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Online KorbenDallas

  • Posts: 47
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1218 on: Tue, 12 February 2019, 04:45:57 »
Just wanted to know if itís possible. Iíve yet to add my own LED strip to a pcb and wanted to know whether it was possible with this one. Figured all you would need is a ground and 5v supply but again Iíve never done it so I wasnít certain. Will probably try it with a short single color strip.

Offline aroostercat

  • Posts: 15
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1219 on: Mon, 25 February 2019, 12:21:58 »
Would an older pcb be compatible with the newest plate file?

Offline ReDsNoTDeAd

  • Posts: 280
  • ADK64 man
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1220 on: Mon, 25 February 2019, 15:17:05 »
Would an older pcb be compatible with the newest plate file?

Yes. PCB supports AEK layout, and so does the plate. All he changed with the plate is more configurations for the spacebar. So as long as you're using an ANSI AEK layout, youre good to go.

Offline aroostercat

  • Posts: 15
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1221 on: Mon, 25 February 2019, 15:45:12 »
Would an older pcb be compatible with the newest plate file?

Yes. PCB supports AEK layout, and so does the plate. All he changed with the plate is more configurations for the spacebar. So as long as you're using an ANSI AEK layout, youre good to go.

Thank you!

Offline oxchamballs

  • Posts: 26
  • Location: I'm from a different planet
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1222 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 00:35:59 »
Just wanted to know if itís possible. Iíve yet to add my own LED strip to a pcb and wanted to know whether it was possible with this one. Figured all you would need is a ground and 5v supply but again Iíve never done it so I wasnít certain. Will probably try it with a short single color strip.

I followed a guide on reddit and managed to get rgb underglow with qmk working on my Alps64



I have an older rev of the pcb so I had to solder directly to the mcu, but it should be easier since the new revs have breakout pins (I think).

Offline nevin

  • Posts: 381
  • Location: US
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1223 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 03:51:29 »
oxchamballs, nice. what case do you have planned for it?
Keeb.io Viterbi, Apple m0110, Apple m0120, Apple m0110a, Apple 658-4081, Apple M1242, Apple AEK II, MK96, GH60/Pure, Cherry g84-4100, Adesso AKP-220B, Magicforce 68

Offline oxchamballs

  • Posts: 26
  • Location: I'm from a different planet
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1224 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 08:25:26 »
oxchamballs, nice. what case do you have planned for it?

it was the first custom pcb I owned; sadly due to my inferior soldering skills back then I've lifted so many pads on the board it's basically half handwire at this point ^-^ It's been retired to my cupboard for now but here it is in it's final state:



http://imgur.com/gallery/38fOrOw


Offline nevin

  • Posts: 381
  • Location: US
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1225 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 08:29:02 »
very nice.
Keeb.io Viterbi, Apple m0110, Apple m0120, Apple m0110a, Apple 658-4081, Apple M1242, Apple AEK II, MK96, GH60/Pure, Cherry g84-4100, Adesso AKP-220B, Magicforce 68

Offline ReDsNoTDeAd

  • Posts: 280
  • ADK64 man
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1226 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 09:43:36 »
Just wanted to know if itís possible. Iíve yet to add my own LED strip to a pcb and wanted to know whether it was possible with this one. Figured all you would need is a ground and 5v supply but again Iíve never done it so I wasnít certain. Will probably try it with a short single color strip.

I followed a guide on reddit and managed to get rgb underglow with qmk working on my Alps64

Show Image


I have an older rev of the pcb so I had to solder directly to the mcu, but it should be easier since the new revs have breakout pins (I think).

Links to this guide? I'm doing this with mine.

Offline oxchamballs

  • Posts: 26
  • Location: I'm from a different planet

Offline ReDsNoTDeAd

  • Posts: 280
  • ADK64 man
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1228 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 12:40:44 »

Offline merlin64

  • Posts: 1188
  • Location: Seattle, WA
    • MechMerlin
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1229 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 13:13:30 »
QMK is a fork off of TMK, so the process of installing is rather similar

1. Make your keymap, but use QMK
2. Flash .hex file.

Offline ReDsNoTDeAd

  • Posts: 280
  • ADK64 man
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1230 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 14:48:09 »
Oh. I am the dumb. Thanks

Offline mxgian99

  • Posts: 63
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1231 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 15:31:39 »
Oh. I am the dumb. Thanks

i think i am dumb too.  when a board is in the TMK repo but not the QMK repo, what do you need to do to bring it to the QMK side? 

what exactly does merlin mean when he says 1. Make your keymap, but use QMK
copy the alps64 directory to the qmk keyboards directory and build it from there?

Offline ShadeDream

  • Posts: 37
  • Location: Austin, TX
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1232 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 19:30:27 »
The Alps64 is in the QMK repo as well, so you don't need to port anything. If you'd like to use anything but the default keymap, you need to make a keymap (in TMK or QMK) and compile a new firmware file (hex) and flash it to the board. The instructions for doing this should be available in either of the project's repositories on github.
« Last Edit: Wed, 27 February 2019, 07:25:45 by ShadeDream »

Offline mxgian99

  • Posts: 63
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1233 on: Tue, 26 February 2019, 22:28:13 »
ok, yeah im really dumb then, i thought i looked in QMK repo but i overlooked it nevermind!

Offline merlin64

  • Posts: 1188
  • Location: Seattle, WA
    • MechMerlin
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [OUT OF STOCK]
« Reply #1234 on: Wed, 27 February 2019, 10:19:06 »
@mxgian @ @redsnotdead

You guys can use the online tool if you'd rather not deal with setting up an environment and all that

We support all the layouts that TMK provides as well: https://config.qmk.fm/#/alps64/LAYOUT_60_ansi

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1235 on: Thu, 28 February 2019, 20:00:55 »
[RESTOCK]
The pcb is back in stock now and backorders will be shipped in a few day.

Thank you
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline vafan

  • Posts: 41
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [Revised price]
« Reply #1236 on: Thu, 28 February 2019, 20:23:43 »
Do you have any plans in the future to sell a plate that supports Tai-Hao spacebars (Cherry mounts for the stabilizers, 6.25u)?

You can cut it yourself

Offline Wojciech

  • Posts: 28
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1237 on: Sun, 03 March 2019, 10:41:31 »
Hi Hasu. Thank you for the PCB - everything works beautifully. I am still waiting for the case and I will upload photos. I tried to make a version with external bluetooth - unfortunately the battery life is very short - about 12 hours with 2600 mAh. So I have a question about whether you plan to make a PCB with bluetooth onboard? Greetings

Offline nevin

  • Posts: 381
  • Location: US
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1238 on: Sun, 03 March 2019, 11:35:55 »
What BT module are you using? What is it's current draw? Are you using lots of leds? Please post your build/setup.

Hasu, do you know what the current draw of your pcb is (in minimal configuration)?

Keeb.io Viterbi, Apple m0110, Apple m0120, Apple m0110a, Apple 658-4081, Apple M1242, Apple AEK II, MK96, GH60/Pure, Cherry g84-4100, Adesso AKP-220B, Magicforce 68

Offline Wojciech

  • Posts: 28
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1239 on: Sun, 03 March 2019, 15:16:25 »
What BT module are you using? What is it's current draw? Are you using lots of leds? Please post your build/setup.

Hasu, do you know what the current draw of your pcb is (in minimal configuration)?



Hi. I'm using Handheld Handheld Scientific BT-500 Bluetooth Adapter, no leds - only Adapter got two LED's. According to producent the adapter consumes about 50mA of current when Bluetooth is enabled.

Offline nevin

  • Posts: 381
  • Location: US
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1240 on: Sun, 03 March 2019, 16:16:06 »
Wojciech, yeah, that definitely doesn't add up. even looking at another thread where soarer references some current draw of a couple keyboard models... https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=44092.msg909328#msg909328

possible that the battery/bank you are using isn't really 2600mah or is old & not holding a charge very well anymore?

a much more in depth build of a custom BT keyboard (bunch of info/measurements throughout thread) https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=93890
Keeb.io Viterbi, Apple m0110, Apple m0120, Apple m0110a, Apple 658-4081, Apple M1242, Apple AEK II, MK96, GH60/Pure, Cherry g84-4100, Adesso AKP-220B, Magicforce 68

Offline Wojciech

  • Posts: 28
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1241 on: Sun, 03 March 2019, 16:41:09 »
Thanks - but it's to complicated to me - I'm not an electronics technician - just musician :) I held the soldering iron in my hand for the first time :) I am looking for a ready-made project. If you've heard about some ready bluetooth PCB for ALPS, please let me know.
All the best
Wojtek

Offline nevin

  • Posts: 381
  • Location: US
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1242 on: Sun, 03 March 2019, 16:56:37 »
no, wasn't suggesting that as a build, just as a reference of some of his measurements.... was starting at 12-13ma, and getting it down to under 2ma.
Keeb.io Viterbi, Apple m0110, Apple m0120, Apple m0110a, Apple 658-4081, Apple M1242, Apple AEK II, MK96, GH60/Pure, Cherry g84-4100, Adesso AKP-220B, Magicforce 68

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1243 on: Tue, 05 March 2019, 10:48:56 »
Hi Hasu. Thank you for the PCB - everything works beautifully. I am still waiting for the case and I will upload photos. I tried to make a version with external bluetooth - unfortunately the battery life is very short - about 12 hours with 2600 mAh. So I have a question about whether you plan to make a PCB with bluetooth onboard? Greetings

No plan for bleutooth.

Alps64 pcb draws 15mA at 5V with current firmware configuration.
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt

Offline nevin

  • Posts: 381
  • Location: US
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1244 on: Tue, 05 March 2019, 10:52:15 »
"Alps64 pcb draws 15mA at 5V with current firmware configuration."
thanks hasu
Keeb.io Viterbi, Apple m0110, Apple m0120, Apple m0110a, Apple 658-4081, Apple M1242, Apple AEK II, MK96, GH60/Pure, Cherry g84-4100, Adesso AKP-220B, Magicforce 68

Offline filabrazilia

  • Posts: 3
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1245 on: Sat, 09 March 2019, 02:24:39 »
Does anyone have experience connecting a piezo speaker to an Alps64? I have one wired to C6 and a 100 Ohm resistor between the piezo and GND. I was able to get a two tone startup sound when using the QMK AUDIO_ENABLE = yes feature turned on. It should be a three tone sound though but the board continually either reboots or crashes (it is non-responsive) so the two tones continually repeat until the switch on the bottom is pressed to put it DFU mode. The light on the bottom of the board that lights up for half a second on start is also continually flashing so it is clear it keeps rebooting constantly and never gets to a point where it is usable as a keyboard. Maybe too much memory is being used by the audio feature?

I can get some very small chirps on startup without crashing if I put something like this in my alps.c (and set AUDIO_ENABLE = no) :
Code: [Select]
void matrix_init_kb(void) {
    setPinOutput(C6);
    writePinHigh(C6);
    _delay_ms(250);
    writePinLow(C6);
    _delay_ms(250);
    writePinHigh(C6);
    _delay_ms(250);

Those aren't proper sounds though like the two tones using the QMK audio feature. That is using a timer to generate real sounds, this is just some very quiet muffled clicks. It seems like I am close but don't know enough about microcontroller programming to get over this last hump. Thanks for any input.

« Last Edit: Sat, 09 March 2019, 02:33:00 by filabrazilia »

Offline filabrazilia

  • Posts: 3
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1246 on: Sat, 09 March 2019, 08:33:13 »
I was able to make my own audio without using QMK's audio features, if it helps anyone here is some sample code that works, it would be nice if QMK audio could work though if anyone has thoughts on that issue:

Code: [Select]
#include <avr/io.h>
#include <util/delay.h>
#define SPEAKER_PORT PORTC
#define SPEAKER_DDR  DDRC
#define SPEAKER_PIN  6

void delay_10_us(uint16_t count) {
  while(count--) {
    _delay_us(10);
  }
}

void PLAYNOTE(float duration, float frequency)
{
long int i,cycles;
float half_period;
float wavelength;
wavelength=(1/frequency)*1000;
cycles=duration/wavelength;
half_period = (wavelength/2)*34;

SPEAKER_DDR |= (1 << SPEAKER_PIN);
for (i=0;i<cycles;i++)
{
delay_10_us(half_period);
SPEAKER_PORT |= (1 << SPEAKER_PIN);
delay_10_us(half_period);
SPEAKER_PORT &= ~(1 << SPEAKER_PIN);
}
return;
}

PLAYNOTE(400,880);
PLAYNOTE(400,932);
PLAYNOTE(400,988);
PLAYNOTE(400,1047);
PLAYNOTE(400,1109);

Offline filabrazilia

  • Posts: 3
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1247 on: Sat, 09 March 2019, 22:31:52 »
I guess this classifies as more of a QMK bug now, I've opened a bug there which is open and acknowledged as an issue with all ATMega32u2 boards.

Online temp0321

  • Posts: 23
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1248 on: Wed, 27 March 2019, 02:42:03 »
Will the stabilizer set from matias.store fit all stabs for this pcb?

Also, do you happen to know what keycaps(especially the bot row) will fit?

I was thinking of getting this:  https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=1362   

Offline hasu

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 2904
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: [GB] TMK Alps64 - 60% PCB for Alps [RESTOCK Mar-01]
« Reply #1249 on: Wed, 27 March 2019, 04:22:37 »
Will the stabilizer set from matias.store fit all stabs for this pcb?

Also, do you happen to know what keycaps(especially the bot row) will fit?

I was thinking of getting this:  https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=1362   

Whether stabilizer fits or not depends on your plate design, not PCB.
This Alps64 PCB supports layout of the keycaps. So, you need a plate that supports Matias stabiliers and the layout.
TMK products:HHKB Alt  ⌨ConvertersAlps64FC660C AltFC980C Alt