Author Topic: SIXBOT another switch tester macropad (with bluetooth)  (Read 7808 times)

Offline GEIST

• schwarzgrau
SIXBOT another switch tester macropad (with bluetooth)
« on: Thu, 23 June 2016, 08:16:01 »

I have to say the presentation is probably more pompous than the final built.

B A C K S T O R Y

I'm an art/design student and 2D animator, which uses a Wacom Cintiq Companion 2 for animating. Unfortunately it has only front buttons, which can be used with the thumb, but I needed some buttons to quickly flip between single images. So I searched for some kind of 4 - 7 key keyboard, in which the keys are aligned in a row, but only found this one from X-keys, which seemed pretty big, expensive and ugly to me. So I decided to build one myself (my first bad idea I guess), which uses bluetooth, since the Companion has only 3 USB ports and one is constantly preoccupied with a software dongle. While searching for parts I thought "Somewhere I heard about mechanical keyboards, maybe I should use these switches" which was maybe the dumbest idea of the whole projects, since I got sucked deep in the swamp of mechanical keyboards pretty quick. Now, two month later, I'm owner of a cheap Noppoo Choc Mid TKL with Vortex PBT caps, a Ansi POK3R, a Leopold FC210TP, ordered a MAX Falcon 8 Macropad, a doubleshot DSA keyset and switched from a Logitech G13 to a Razor Orbweaver from ebay.

N O T E

I have absolutely NO idea what I'm talking about and what I'm doing. I just post this kind of tutorial here to prevent clueless people as me for doing the same mistakes than me. I never 3D printed something before or build something electronically. All my solder-experience was a 30 minutes solder workshop in Japanese (which I don't speak). If you heard something somewhere else differently then you should assume they're probably right!

P L A N N I N G & P A R T S