Author Topic: [IC] MC-76K "Fat Boy" - A compact keyboard for the modders among us.  (Read 54910 times)

Offline mustcode

!!GB LIVE!!
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=106102.0

Hello!

First of all, I'd like to put it out there that I'm no pro at this... I'm a game developer that knows a little bit of CAD and love to design crazy things that pops into my head. I have no real experience with manufacturing except for a few 3d-printing projects I did for fun. So if enough people actually like the idea, I'll probably try to collaborate with an experienced pro to bring this to life.

Alright, with that out of the way, let's get to the meat!
220456-0
220458-1
220460-2
As you can see, except for some retro vibes, fancy aesthetic is not the main focus of this design (I called it "Fat Boy" simply because it looks kinda fat). This is a keyboard designed to be customized like no other boards that I know of.

Let's start with the first unique point of the board, the bottom:
220462-3
No screws! Yup, this is why there are screws on the sides. I've always hated having to flip a keyboard upside down whenever I need to open it up to tinker with it. So, this board is designed so that you'll never have a reason to flip it over, ever. As a bonus, you also get a completely flat bottom that lets you easily attach custom dampening material instead of standard bumpons.

Next let's look at the main pieces of the assembly since you're probably wondering how the board opens up:
220464-4
The image above shows all the custom pieces for the case, the rest are standard McMaster-Carr hardware. There pieces are: Main Body, Top Cover, Back Cover, and two weird pieces that are part of the mounting system, I'll get to that in a bit... But first, let me talk about the Top Cover and the Back Cover.