Author Topic: Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)  (Read 639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ryuzBIM

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 40
  • Location: Paris, FR
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 16:48:23 »
Hi,
I just bought a used Filco Majestouch with mx Brown, everything was looking good until i noticed a problem.
Sometimes "r" key input is registered twice wich is quite annoying.
Do you think the keyboarrd i just bought is dead ? Or can i repair this easily ?

Thanks
Noppoo Choc Mini||Filco Majestouch I||CM Quickfire

Online tp4tissue

  • Posts: 7269
  • Eat Ramen-Save bux-Buy Ergodox-Happiness follows
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 19:33:32 »
Pretty straight forward fix.. check solder points, if good, then it's the switch.

I think they're plate mounted, so you probably wouldn't want to desolder the entire board just to swap out one switch.. so you get a good knife, and CUT out the top of the switch carefully. and replace the innards of that ONE switch with a repalcement.

Offline ryuzBIM

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 40
  • Location: Paris, FR
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 20:04:44 »
Oh ok i see thank you, i'm gonna check everything :)
I was kind of worried about desolder the entire board but your way seems pretty fast.
Noppoo Choc Mini||Filco Majestouch I||CM Quickfire

Offline laffindude

  • Posts: 1741
  • ( ̽ ˳)
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 20:37:15 »
TP4 spreading FUD again. You only need to desolder ONE switch to swap the switch.

Offline ryuzBIM

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 40
  • Location: Paris, FR
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #4 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 20:51:10 »
So the best thing to do is to desolder and swap the switch anyway ?
Thank you laffindude :)
Noppoo Choc Mini||Filco Majestouch I||CM Quickfire

Offline laffindude

  • Posts: 1741
  • ( ̽ ˳)
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #5 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 21:07:07 »
If you're comfortable with soldering, sure. MJ1 are easier to desolder since they don't use through hole soldering.

Offline lorem3k

  • Posts: 241
    • http://twitter.com/#!/lorem3k
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #6 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 21:31:08 »
There could be something stuck in the switch, try blasting it with compressed air before you replace it.
Leopold FC200RT/AWN | Logitech G400 | Sennheiser HD25-1 II | Pounds in the fridge, hundred stacks in the armoire

Online tp4tissue

  • Posts: 7269
  • Eat Ramen-Save bux-Buy Ergodox-Happiness follows
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #7 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 23:08:04 »
Quote from: laffindude;585188
TP4 spreading FUD again. You only need to desolder ONE switch to swap the switch.


Explain how he's gonna lift the entire plate by only desoldering 1 switch...

Offline laffindude

  • Posts: 1741
  • ( ̽ ˳)
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #8 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 23:23:31 »
You don't. Switch lifts out.

Offline shawn o

  • Posts: 715
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #9 on: Sat, 28 April 2012, 23:46:44 »
Desolder both points on the switch and then push from behind on the center....very easy.

Online tp4tissue

  • Posts: 7269
  • Eat Ramen-Save bux-Buy Ergodox-Happiness follows
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #10 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 01:06:35 »
Quote from: laffindude;585313
You don't. Switch lifts out.

Hmmm.. well, when i'm wrong i'm wrong.. I thought it clipped.

well, at least make sure to use soldering wick.

Online Daniel Beardsmore

  • Posts: 1544
  • Location: Hertfordshire, England
    • Boring twaddle
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #11 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 08:23:05 »
I've had two Majestouch 1s do this.

One of them had a switch that wasn't snapped into the plate properly before soldering, and it was supported only by the solder joint, which started to come apart. This was a known manufacturing fault that was resolved with the Majestouch 2. The switch itself could be pressed down a millimetre or so, and then snapped into place properly and died. It needed re-soldering.

The other one, the switch just needed some WD40, apparently.
Bore Awards
Most Boring Person on the Planet 2011 Winner

Offline laffindude

  • Posts: 1741
  • ( ̽ ˳)
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #12 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 08:37:19 »
I'd be weary of peeled traces when the switch get seated into the plate after it has been soldered.

Offline ryuzBIM

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 40
  • Location: Paris, FR
Problem Filco Majestouch 104 (1st generation)
« Reply #13 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 13:00:10 »
Quote from: Daniel Beardsmore;585506
I've had two Majestouch 1s do this.

One of them had a switch that wasn't snapped into the plate properly before soldering, and it was supported only by the solder joint, which started to come apart. This was a known manufacturing fault that was resolved with the Majestouch 2. The switch itself could be pressed down a millimetre or so, and then snapped into place properly and died. It needed re-soldering.

The other one, the switch just needed some WD40, apparently.
Ok thanks, i found your old thread about it.
I'm gonna try to found a few brown switch in the classified section.
Noppoo Choc Mini||Filco Majestouch I||CM Quickfire