Author Topic: Deafness  (Read 1800 times)

Offline emenelopee

• *klomp klomp klomp* I step on your house 🦖
Deafness
« on: Sun, 01 April 2018, 02:33:26 »
I have very little experience with deafness, so I have a few innocent questions on the day-to-day experience:

- I read with an internal voice speaking words that I imagine hearing. Is this the same for a deaf person? If not, how does a deaf person experience reading?
- A corollary to the above: does the concept of rhyming words work? If there is no imagined sound and more a recognition of words with associated meanings, do words that look the same create an experience to words that sound the same?
- What effect is experienced with miss-spelled or bastardized words? Does "thx" correlate easily with "thanks"? Is "favourite" different to "favorite"? "Tomato" and "tomato"?
- Is there any delineation between male and female speech as it's rendered in the mind? Specifically I'm thinking about subtitles here.

Thx!

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Deafness
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 01 April 2018, 04:17:59 »
You "read " to yourself because it was how you were taught to read, I don't know if deaf people do that or not, but it could also change depending on when they went deaf.

I'm heavily dyslexic, while I can read forwards, backwards, sideways, mirrored, etc at almost the same speed, I tended to read a little slower than average, not enough for people to notice but it made me hyper aware of it and self conscious, so I did some research on speed reading just to get over that hump. One of the first things you learn in speed reading is to stop that inner monologue because it slows you down.

We can process information much faster than we can speak that same information, if you want an interesting experiment, watch/listen to Youtube at double speed. I knew a guy who would listen to audiobooks at 4x or more. I listened to it on a long road trip with him and it was surprisingly easy to adapt to it.