Author Topic: GH Amateur Mycology and Foragers Club  (Read 3906 times)

Offline noisyturtle

• * Exalted Elder
  • comfortably numb
GH Amateur Mycology and Foragers Club
« on: Wed, 31 October 2018, 21:09:30 »
Over the Summer I came down with an interest in mushrooms and mycology, and the past few weeks have been walking around neighborhoods and woody areas snapping pics of all the fungi I meet. I learn more every time and get better at spotting and finding them by the day, although I am still a noob when it comes to identification.
Last month I was finding chanterells and chicken of the woods all around my area, and was hoping to spot some cyanescens or azurescens recently since the weather has been perfect for them but haven't seen any at all yet :(

We got any foragers here on GH? Got any nice pics or tips to share?

Offline noisyturtle

• * Exalted Elder
  • comfortably numb
Re: GH Amateur Mycology and Foragers Club
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 01 November 2018, 01:44:51 »
I get it, most of you never venture outside  :rolleyes:

Offline fohat.digs

• * Elevated Elder
  • weird funny old guy
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 01 November 2018, 10:20:47 »
That morel looks delicious. I have only ever found a few of them, and never more than about 4 at a time.

There were 2 occasions about 20 years ago where I stumbled across vast swaths of boletes, and gathered as many as I could carry. Each time was after a long warm rainy spell in late summer. I tried cooking them in various mushroom-heavy recipes (bolete pie, anyone?) but it was overwhelming so I dried the remainder.

I had a big shaker jar of mushroom powder that I could just shake out like an ordinary seasoning spice. It lasted a few years, but I never found a motherlode like that again.