Author Topic: G'day - Custom fabricator here!  (Read 4322 times)

Offline dn

• Got Wood? Fabricator / Designer Extraordinaire
G'day - Custom fabricator here!
« on: Wed, 30 January 2013, 01:22:53 »
G'day from Melbourne!

7G enthusiast here!

I am an Industrial Designer and fabrication is a big hobby - considering making some custom polished wooden and metal keycaps in the near future!

Hardcore Quake player, and love Super Meat Boy!

Cant wait for some PBT / double shot GB's

Cheers!
7G owner :)

PS: I'm looking for a PBT blank full set for my 7G!

Offline singaporean123

• I like keycaps and I cannot lie
Re: G'day - Custom fabricator here!
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 30 January 2013, 01:28:35 »
So you're a liar! Fabricator!

Offline MattBuzzy

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 30 January 2013, 01:41:57 »
Hey, welcome to  Geekhack! Custom wooden caps!? Count me in.

Offline hashbaz

• Grand Ancient One
  • * Moderator Emeritus
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 30 January 2013, 01:53:19 »
Welcome!  Expertise like yours is always exciting to bring on board.  Can't wait to see your creations. :)

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 30 January 2013, 03:35:06 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

Hint: If you can make nice metal keycaps in small quantities, you will have people lining up and offering to sell body parts to buy them ;)
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada