Author Topic: Neo layout  (Read 5446 times)

Offline xmagusx

• QWERTY is hateful.
    • The Ergonomic Zone
Neo layout
« on: Tue, 30 July 2013, 10:45:31 »
Hey all, with the Ergodox round III about to ship, I've been investigating alternate layouts and wanted to know if anyone had tried (with or without success) the Neo layout.

Other points of curiosity:
Malt(ron) users, how does having the E key mapped to a thumb work for you?

Colemak users who have thumb cluster boards -- what do you have mapped to those keys?

Thanks!

Offline davkol

•  Post Editing Timeout
Re: Neo layout
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 30 July 2013, 10:59:15 »
I'm aware of only one Neo user at Deskthority.

Offline suka

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 30 July 2013, 11:29:28 »
Used it shortly when investigating alternative layouts, but quickly switched to the much superior (imho) AdNW layout I described at DT.

Offline jalitt

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 30 July 2013, 11:59:27 »
I love the Maltron layout.  I am a programmer by trade so I type quite a bit, and I use Maltron as my primary layout.  At home I type on Dvorak(though this will change as soon as I put the money together for another Maltron 3D).

Maltron is superior in a number of places to Dvorak.  The hand alternation is better, as important vowels are broken up on the home rows of both the left and right hand.  Period and comma are bumped from the top row.

With Maltron layout, nearly all of the typing is on the home row and the top row, it is really just about as close to a general optimal layout as could ever be created for the English language.  I am sure individuals could customize a layout to be a percent or two more optimal for them, but they would just be splitting hairs.

The best part though is the E on the thumb.  I cannot say enough how awesome this is, and I imagine with the proliferation of split keyboards this optimization will start to appear all over the place.

Offline xmagusx

• QWERTY is hateful.
    • The Ergonomic Zone