Author Topic: My hunt for an uncommon ISO layout mechanical keyboard  (Read 15156 times)

Offline Gaboris

My hunt for an uncommon ISO layout mechanical keyboard
« on: Thu, 23 March 2017, 15:42:08 »
Hoy all!

I'm making this thread because after three months of hunting I've finally figured out what mechanical keyboard I might pick as my new daily driver and I thought I'll share my experiences and thought process in case someone else sees a fault in them and for others to learn from my cautionary tale. :)

TL;DR at the end
This is basically just a huge circle if you had already asked someone experienced on the subject.

I work as a full time web developer(from at home) and do some gaming as well so I'm basically typing all day long.
163742-0
My current keyboard is a cheap Trust GXT 18 witch has worked for me for several years(my standards aren't too high I guess), it actually survived a milk spill (worked after cleaning). But a few months ago it started to actually hinder my work(a lot of keycaps are basically blank and I also need to use it in poor lighting because of my screen glare at times and I'm still poor at blind typing) and I decided that instead of getting an exact replacement I'll invest some money into my job and see if a more premium option can help me improve.

So at the start I made a "simple" list of what I'd need:

1) QWERTZ layout (That's the Hungarian 105 ISO layout, don't ask why we had to switch the Z-Y keys)
2) Simple backlit (I have no use for RGB or any lighting effects, but I don't care if there are any)
3) Full keyboard (The numberpad is actually useful at times)
4) Cherry MX clear or at least brown switchers (I bought a 9xkey sampler to feel all the types)
5) Simple design (I always disliked flashy oversized keyboards that are "meant for gaming" especially if I'm trying to keep at least a professional LOOK in front of my family)