Author Topic: Trouble Diagnosing Key stickiness  (Read 2651 times)

Offline cmdshft

Trouble Diagnosing Key stickiness
« on: Wed, 07 April 2021, 19:45:47 »
Hey all, noob here, I have a tofu65 that I just built. Here's the specs:

tofu65 alum purple
dz65rgb v2
gat ink black v2 (NK films + 205g0)
polycarb plate
durock v1 stabs (wires lubed with krytox xht-bdz, dummy's lubed with 205g0, also did the "plug the butt" thing I see others do)
KBDFans stab pads

Okay, so the issue I am having is that the left shift and the enter key seem to get "stuck" very briefly before returning up. I thought it was the keycaps being warped because I bought them from Amazon as a temporary set. So, I bought the PBT Notion set from NovelKeys_ and the same keys are getting stuck in the same manner. I took the keyboard apart and saw that there was some of the xht-bdz on the stab pads, so I cleaned it all up as best as I could, relubed the stabs and had the same results.

I'm not sure what to do, to be honest. I do not like how it feels and am not really sure what to do about it. I am 100% certain I am lubing them correctly. I have new v2 stabs and c3 stabs coming as well to try. Should I just stick with 205g0 on the stabs for everything?

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Trouble Diagnosing Key stickiness
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 07 April 2021, 21:13:05 »
It could be a lube issue but it can also be related to hot swaps.
Switches are meant to sit loosely in the holes and self center between the plate, pcb and stabs before being soldered into place, hot swaps don't allow them to do that and can cause bind, u using film makes it even worse.