Author Topic: is ungrounded pc safe for mechanical keyboard?  (Read 1214 times)

Offline Marilyn lin

is ungrounded pc safe for mechanical keyboard?
« on: Tue, 02 March 2021, 01:29:39 »
hi im new in this hobby just moved from a bluetooth office keyboard to a wired mechanical keyboard, i have an old computer i never plug anything to the usb port before except the bluetooth dongle before.
my PC and the electricity in my home has no grounding/ ungrounded i can feel it little shock electric on my PC case i just wondering is it safe for low voltage device like a mechanical kb? i never use any wired peripheral before even my headset and my mouse are wireless so i kind a bit worried about it

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: is ungrounded pc safe for mechanical keyboard?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 02 March 2021, 02:26:38 »
That's not even safe for you or the computer much less the keyboard.

I would make sure you use a plastic body keyboard, not an aluminum model, but instead of a keyboard I'd consider spending that money on an electrician.
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs
More
62g Zilents/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, pic
| Filco MJ2 L.E. Vortex Case, Jailhouse Blues, heavily customized
More
Vortex case squared up/blasted finish removed/custom feet/paint/winkey blockoff plate, HID Liberator, stainless steel universal plate, 3d printed adapters, Type C, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, foam sound dampened, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps (o-ringed), Cherry Jailhouse Blues w/lubed/clipped Cherry light springs, 40g actuation
| GMMK TKL
More
w/ Kailh Purple Pros/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 Magnetic cable
| PF65 3d printed 65% w/LCD and hot swap
More
Box Jades, Interchangeable trim, mini lcd, QMK, underglow, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, O-rings, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, in progress link
| Magicforce 68
More
MF68 pcb, Outemu Blues, in progress
| YMDK75 Jail Housed Gateron Blues
More