Author Topic: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?  (Read 6225 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ed_avis

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 67
Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« on: Sun, 10 March 2013, 14:34:24 »
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/330884165118

Keyboard for some early 90s Unix workstation from a lesser-known manufacturer?

Offline IvanIvanovich

  • Mr. Silk Underwear
  • Posts: 8199
  • Location: USA
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 10 March 2013, 15:17:59 »
First time I see one with PS/2. Always before they have the 4p4c connector for dumb terminal. Board itself will be good quality, made by same oem as Wyse, Reynolds, and many other terminal brands with SP doubleshots.

Offline tp4tissue

  • * Destiny Supporter
  • Posts: 13495
  • Location: Official Geekhack Public Defender..
  • OmniExpert of: Rice, Top-Ramen, Ergodox, n Females
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 10 March 2013, 17:38:25 »
on these super big space bars is there still only just 2 stabs? 1 on each side?

Offline IvanIvanovich

  • Mr. Silk Underwear
  • Posts: 8199
  • Location: USA
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 10 March 2013, 17:42:53 »
Yes. It would have normal 1 switch usually a grey or super black, 1 pair of stabs. It's only 9 units.

Offline Glod

  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 1998
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • Also Known As Ergonomech
    • YouTube Channel
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 10 March 2013, 20:51:55 »
geekhack, home of keyboard historians

Offline dorkvader

  • Posts: 6284
  • Location: Boston area
  • all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #5 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 09:38:32 »
Yes. It would have normal 1 switch usually a grey or super black, 1 pair of stabs. It's only 9 units.
super black On the spacebar? I thought superblacks were used for program/winkey/etc on the 5000 and 1600 and 2100

Offline phetto

  • HHKB JP
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 918
  • Location: Sweden
Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #6 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 09:45:17 »
I have a espirit board, mine has ANSI layout with iso enter. I bought it mainly for harvesting.

Offline kaiserreich

  • HHKB Elite
  • Posts: 880
  • Location: Malaysia
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #7 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 09:53:23 »
Looks like wyse rebadged

Offline phetto

  • HHKB JP
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 918
  • Location: Sweden
Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #8 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 10:09:22 »
You might wanna know that the modifiers aren't doubleshots, only the alphas are. They are a slight different profile then the normal SP profile than the one we use for GBs. More like the OEM profile. I love them.

Offline IvanIvanovich

  • Mr. Silk Underwear
  • Posts: 8199
  • Location: USA
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #9 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 11:30:17 »
I encounter superblack on some of the really big spacebar before. I got one recently from one with a 10 units space, also using Cherry thickass caps, so it needed it I guess lol.
Hmn, I didn't think these looked any different than usual DCS. Maybe they used some different sources for other keyboards. I have seen others with few different switch type so it is highly likely they used different oem at different times maybe even with MX ones.
« Last Edit: Mon, 11 March 2013, 11:32:03 by IvanIvanovich »

Offline phetto

  • HHKB JP
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 918
  • Location: Sweden
Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #10 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 11:51:01 »
Will see if I can take some comparison shots later

Offline phetto

  • HHKB JP
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 918
  • Location: Sweden
Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 13 March 2013, 05:52:18 »






Here you can se the profile, the left is dcs profile.

Offline bloggerstomper

  • Posts: 3
Re: Esprit S3992-M00 - what is this for?
« Reply #12 on: Mon, 31 October 2022, 13:39:18 »
I just found one of these and connected to a pc with an active Ps2 adapter. It feels very nice but the pc doesn't see all the keys. I'll probably scavenge the keycaps instead. Very cool find