Author Topic: Keyboard related studies  (Read 3647 times)

Offline Dext

Keyboard related studies
« on: Sat, 23 January 2016, 12:17:45 »
Hello everyone,

I'm a french student in scientific Higher school preparatory classes (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classe_pr%C3%A9paratoire_aux_grandes_%C3%A9coles) and i have to do what we call a "TIPE". Basically, it's a project on whatever you want where you have to do some studies about a topic, and after that answer a problem about it and with that you have to constitute a file with your "research" in it. As a keyboard lover, I would like to do it about... keyboards.

Any idea of something i could study and do some cool stuff with it about keyboards? If it could include some maths, cool engineering stuff or things like this, it would be awesome.

Thanks for your help,

Your Leopold lover,
Dext

Offline merlin64

• MechMerlin
Re: Keyboard related studies
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 23 January 2016, 16:44:05 »
Ooooh that sounds exciting!!

Off the top of my head, the following comes to ind

1. Comparison of spring weights between Cherry MX and Korean springs. People have talked about what they feel like, but I don't think anyone has done a scientific comparison yet

2. The Keyboard Matrix! Discuss how people have tried to solve the NKRO issue, etc etc

3. Talk about the different switch designs, Cherry MX, Topre, ALPS, Hall Effect, and more!

Offline azhdar

• Praise the AZERTY god
  • 65% Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 23 January 2016, 16:46:16 »
to add to merlin64 idea, layouts comparaisons ?
Azerty Propagandiste

Offline hwood34

• underwater squad
  • * Exalted Elder
  • #1 CL stan
    • Keyboard Illuminati
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 23 January 2016, 16:46:58 »
1. Comparison of spring weights between Cherry MX and Korean springs. People have talked about what they feel like, but I don't think anyone has done a scientific comparison yet

The only real difference is that one is measure at actuation and the other is measured at bottom-out