Author Topic: Please give input/criticize my custom layout for a MS Ergo-inspired keyboard  (Read 6725 times)

Offline mamcx

I'm working to build a MS Ergonomic-alike keyb. This is my first project ever.

Now If I doing this I think, let's do a custom layout!. I will print the keys on http://wasdkeyboards.com. To avoid create a custom keyset from scratch, my plan is salvage some keys from the numpad to fill it.

I'm aware the cherry profile is not ideal, but find a custom printed DSA will be way too costly to me. But I'm worry the shuffle of the keys positions bring trouble because the profile.

This are my constraints:

- This will be a close clone of MS Ergo. If I find a way, I plan to curve the layout, to mimic the MS Ergo. I probably till the alphas a little from left-right (and viz) in a small slope. If not, this will be similar to LZ Ergo. This is the only thing set on stone
- I'm a developer, so I try to optimize for the keys I use more. If I print custom text, is to make this happen. I can back-off from the idea and use a normal set if this have some fatal flaw I don't see
- I hope to not spend more than US 100 in the keyset.
- I not concerned about fast typing or gaming, or have any preference about mech keys. I have gateron browns.
- The layout is non-staggered. Not because I know what I'm doing, just for clarity in the design. I imagine it could be better for ergonomic.
- I imagine move the shift keys and use 2 smaller space bar is a good thing.
- I will restrict this to what is possible with a full 104 ansi keyset, without different sizes that are available there.
- wasd let me print anything on top! I imagine the quality of the keys are good enough in contrast to what I have used before (never a quality keyset).

And I'm open to improve, move or change this layout. I have not strong preferences (except to try to build a MS ergo).

This is the layout as today (not yet fully polished, only thinking in the keys not the actual final result):