Author Topic: planned ergonomic keyboard, right hand portion  (Read 8398 times)

Offline jacobolus

planned ergonomic keyboard, right hand portion
« on: Sat, 03 August 2013, 01:52:17 »
Hi folks, it’s my first post here. I’ve been using a Model M from 1989 as my main keyboard for the last 8 years or so, since early in college.

Anyway, I’ve been poking around the site for the last few weeks, and inspired by the Ergodox and Kinesis/Maltron keyboards (and these NEC things and the dutch Velotype), and especially by Suka’s work, I’ve decided that I really need to make myself a programmable split keyboard with a bunch of thumb buttons, but one that fits the natural position/relation of my fingers and the ways they can easily bend without wrist movement, where no keys are in each-others way and I have easy access to some kind of pointer/scroller type inputs (hopefully also programmable, in coordination with key presses).

Anyway, I bought some teensy boards, several old apple and cherry keyboards to harvest key switches from (I'm partial to the orange alps switches in the M0115/M0116 keyboards), a soldering iron and a multimeter, and some laser mouse sensors, and I'm going to start learning how to make electronics and program micro-controllers in about 2 weeks (and then after that figure out how to 3d print some plastic for the switches to sit in, or something). But as a first step, I bought some plastilina and made a first-try model.

I think I still have a couple models to go before I get it right – in particular I think the whole thing needs to be tilted up a bit on the inside – but this seems like an okay start.

This is the right hand part. I think the left hand would probably have something other than a trackball: maybe one of those spaceball 6DOF controllers, or maybe a touchpad, or maybe a jog-wheel, or maybe just the keyboard. Anyway, what do you all think? Any advice for a newbie?

View from below:

View from above:

Fingers on the home row: