Author Topic: Rookie considering ErgoDox  (Read 4568 times)

Offline Kozu

Rookie considering ErgoDox
« on: Mon, 19 August 2013, 14:17:18 »
Hello everyone,

I went here to seek some help and advice. I'm a Software Engineer (to-be) recently started using Emacs.

I love Emacs, but I must admit it really puts some strain on the fingers (yes, I have remapped ctrl -> caps lock). My left thumb is having issues hitting the cmd-key (meta key). The current keyboard I'm using is an Apple Chiclet board, and I have never used a mechanical keyboard professionally. Until now, I have actually been pretty happy with this chiclet board... and the reason why I actually turned to chiclet was more due to the flat design (and fast "feedback", as in bottoming out). Mechanical keyboards have always in my mind been these annoying curving keyboards, that made your fingers feel like they were climbing stairs. But after I have been lurking here for some time, I can see I've been so wrong.

Anyhow, this is my questions:

1. On the massdrop page, it says blue is the best for typing... but mentions noise. How bad is this noise when sitting in an open office space?
2. What switches should I go for? From what I read the clear and blues are the best suiting for typing.
3. How mobile is the ErgoDox? When it comes to backpacks.
4. Casing... Which one should I go for? is the "full hand" usable without creating some custom pad? or no-matter the case should I get a pad for the wrist?

Thanks a lot

Offline thebeargentile

Re: Rookie considering ErgoDox
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 19 August 2013, 14:29:42 »
Can't speak to the ErgoDox since I don't have one yet, but I have been using a Kinesis Advantage at work, and mapped the control key to where the delete key is on the default Ergodox layout, and have been very pleased with the results.