Author Topic: [Philadelphia, PA] I would like some help with the Model M bolt mod  (Read 1830 times)

Offline Fox

Hi geekhackers,

I've been using the same IBM Model M 1391401 for over ten years, which I pulled it out of a dumpster in 1998 along with an IBM 5150.

A few months ago, a couple of keys stopped registering. I tried a different cable thinking it might be the problem, but it wasn't. So I took it apart and found that some of the rivets had broken.

I've read through the bolt mod wiki article, but I'm not comfortable doing this for the first time on a board I care about, as silly as that sounds.

What I would appreciate is for someone local who has done it before to help guide me through the process. I would prefer to only replace the broken rivets.

In return, I offer a case of your choice of craft beer. Alternatively, I know my way around motorcycles and can help with a small project (carb rebuild etc).

Offline alienman82

• * Elevated Elder
Re: [Philadelphia, PA] I would like some help with the Model M bolt mod
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 09 December 2016, 12:41:32 »
removed.
« Last Edit: Thu, 01 March 2018, 13:29:01 by alienman82 »

Offline Fox

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 09 December 2016, 13:03:23 »
Actual Philly. I do get out to West Chester every month or so for a nonprofit I'm involved with.

Offline E TwentyNine

• Some of My Keyboards
« Reply #3 on: Fri, 09 December 2016, 16:55:41 »
Which keys stopped registering?
Daily driver: SSK or Tenkeyless IBM AT
1984 Model M Industrial Prototype ⌨ 1992 Black Oval Industrial SSK ⌨ 1982 5251 Beam Spring ⌨ 89 Key "SSK" ⌨ M13 triplets

Offline fohat.digs

• * Elevated Elder
  • weird funny old guy
« Reply #4 on: Fri, 09 December 2016, 17:14:48 »

So I took it apart and found that some of the rivets had broken.