Author Topic: Why PTFE grease being used for keyboards is personally ironic  (Read 9718 times)

Offline Scragg

Ok, so I thought that the fact that we use PTFE grease for keyboards is ironic - personally.

Not because it's bad or anything like that, its great and it feels awesome in most switches.

I probably have more PTFE in my lungs than in a 2oz tube of krytox 205g0, I used to work as an Industrial oven operator in a CNC/Teflon shop. I have inhaled enough PTFE and other various types of Teflon fumes to kill an elephant and endured temperatures in excess of 600°F. I spent about a year and some change at that job before I finally caught a lucky break as a programmer and I have to say the poetic irony of going from a producer of PTFE and other teflons to being someone who can afford to be a consumer of a product that is closely correlated/related to PTFE is some sort of crazy irony.

So for those of you who are interested I would like to describe my old job for you.....

Also to reward me for all the hard work i did, I earned approximately 400 per week after taxes, this is including my IT duties I had there.

Essentially, Teflon is used for a large portion of things in the world
* power tools
* cars
* space ships/rockets
* oil rigs
* pans/cookware etc
* cutting boards
* obviously keyboard grease

there are a lot of different types, and those types have vastly different properties when it comes to heat/pressure.

on a surface level what my job was responsible for was:

* putting billets (cylinders) of compressed teflon in an industrial oven
* taking billets out at temps of 600 650 degress F the next day and putting them on steel cylinders sized perfectly for the billets anywhere from 1/8th inch to 80ish inches
* billets could be anything from a few ounces to hundreds of lbs
* monitoring cooling billets for defects
* separating cooled billets from steel cylinders (pins) with a hydraulic press