Author Topic: How about helping me choose a keyboard?  (Read 1334 times)

Offline dirtyblacksocks

How about helping me choose a keyboard?
« on: Tue, 04 February 2014, 22:37:02 »
So here's the deal folks. I grew up on IBM keyboards way back when - and had no idea what a mechanical keyboard was up until a few years back. Since then I've owned two mechanical types. Razer Black Widow, and Logitech G710+.

Now I'm using a Logitech G710+ with the brown switches, and I love them for typing - I think they are all around my favorite switches, but I do quite a bit of gaming as well.

Long story short I've spilt some sticky hot mess on the ten key of this keyboard, and it's no longer functional, along with all the media keys on it - essentially turning it into a big TKS board.

I'm looking to upgrade, but being that I'm a Disabled Veteran - I'm lucky if I can put away $50 a month - and I've got a computer build on schedule for 8 months from now that must be completed due to giving the current rig I'm using to a Disabled Veteran who will be getting out of the hospital and need something to keep her mind occupied when she no longer has that support system.

So I need a solid mechanical keyboard with Cherry MX Brown switches, preferably TKS but that's not a deal breaker (I just figure it will make the board cheaper) - and preferably some kind of back light illumination, but again it's not a deal breaker, seeing as I'm pretty adept at typing.

I want something solid...superior...just the best of the line when it comes to production line mechanical keyboards - without breaking the bank. If I'm going to spend over $200 I may as well just start saving for a full on custom build.

That being said, right now I'm basically looking at two brands, Ducky and Cherry.