Author Topic: When can you switch to blank keycaps?  (Read 11726 times)

Offline swill

• * Elevated Elder
  • builder & enabler
    • swillkb.com
When can you switch to blank keycaps?
« on: Sun, 29 September 2013, 21:55:06 »
I touch type all the time and I am quite confident on my keyboard, but I have to admit that going to blank keycaps feels a little bit daunting.  I am a programmer, so I probably use more keys on a regular basis than a standard typist. 

So how do I know that I am ready to jump off that cliff and never have to look down at my keyboard for reference again?  Is there a "blank keycap compatibility" test I can take or something?  :)

I see so many of you using blank caps.  Very often on 60% boards and such where there are many function keys to keep track of.

I have seen some people use a few keycaps of a different color to give them some orientation.  That seems smart and might be a good idea to get me started down this road if I have problems with specific things.

I am sure other people have had this same dilemma, so I wanted to put it out there to see if anyone had advice.

Offline hydrospell

• * Destiny Supporter
  • some keyboard thing
    • octobrain
Re: When can you switch to blank keycaps?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 29 September 2013, 22:15:13 »
I just went for it without much though to these. I'm a hobbyist programmer, not a professional one, so if that's good for me that probably works for you too? Also do you touch type with the correct fingers on the right keys? If you do it's probably burned into muscle memory already including the keys you reach to type symbols.

I just went for it thinking that blank keys will train me with memorising those symbol keys not burned into memory yet.

Edit: to expand further I am using a tenkeyless board but have custom mapping for Caps lock, fn key, media keys and eject key on a Mac computer.
« Last Edit: Sun, 29 September 2013, 22:17:54 by hydrospell »