Author Topic: Does anyone have a spare G400 shell? (Or can recommend a mouse?)  (Read 5351 times)

Offline Jamie UK

Does anyone have a spare G400 shell? (Or can recommend a mouse?)
« on: Mon, 12 December 2016, 08:57:38 »
I wondered if anyone might be able to help me, I'm looking for a G400 shell to replace the shell of my MX518.

A bit of background as to why I'm trying to do this…

I'm not a gamer - I'm a designer so I need a high DPI mouse and like having the additional buttons a gaming mouse offers. I bought the MX518 seven years ago on a recommendation and was mostly very pleased with it. Though one thing I was disappointed with was the wheel which feels loose and very hard to middle click, and overall it doesn't feel as 'solid' as my previous mouse (Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical).

But by far my biggest gripe about the MX518 is the way it looks! Good grief, I find that pattern quite hideous, and try not to look at it too much or it would make me feel sick. It's just so messy and looks dirty. I want a mouse that looks elegant and neat.

After 7 years with the MX518, I decided to replace it and get something more attractive. However, after a lot of research, I came to the conclusion that I should keep my MX518, mostly because it is still highly regarded even today, and "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"!

As well as this, I struggled to find anything I liked the look of to replace it with. All the mice I liked the look of (and the price of) were not gaming mice. And in my opinion, gaming mice (and keyboards) today are just getting uglier and uglier! I know it's a personal thing but I just cannot stand the way these things look. I would describe them as dark, angular, harsh, strange, otherworldly, sinister and hostile. I don't want such ugly things anywhere near my room! I want technology that looks friendly, calm, inviting, neat, beautiful and pleasant.