Author Topic: A CB in need of retrobrite  (Read 2263 times)

Offline volvo244t

A CB in need of retrobrite
« on: Sun, 21 August 2016, 22:20:31 »
Being a trucker by trade, I use CB radios, and aside from them being tools, I have an obsession with them, just like with keyboards.

My most recent acquisition is this 1970s-tastic Motorola 4022, seen with a couple slightly more modern friends.

As you can see it suffers the same yellowing we're all too familiar with, so a retrobrite treatment for it is in order.

Oh, I have 16 more CBs, in addition to the ones pictured.  Like I said, obsession...
Keychron C2 - box pinks - mt3 jukebox
Keychron K10 - box crystal jades - mt3 dasher
Keychron V6 QMK - gat cap v2 milky yellows - marrs green clones in oem profile?
IBM Model M - 1391401 - blue label - 3/9/93

Offline tp4tissue

• * Destiny Supporter
  • OmniExpert of: Rice, Top-Ramen, Ergodox, n Females
Re: A CB in need of retrobrite
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 22 August 2016, 17:48:01 »
Get to the good stuff,  tell us about the Lot-Lizards you solicit on the radio..

Offline volvo244t

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 22 August 2016, 20:50:52 »
Lot lizards?  ****, I've only seen one, in Memphis, and she was getting arrested in a sting operation.

Offline volvo244t

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 22 August 2016, 20:53:44 »
Actually, I might have seen a second, in Hagerstown, MD.  My guess is based on attire.  When you've got on a short skirt and high heels and you're walking around the truck stop parking lot...

...yeeeeeeeeeah.

I dunno, man.  Supposedly Indianapolis has a lot of lot-lizard activity at the Exit-4 truckstops off 465... I drove for Crete until May, and any time I needed to park in Indy, I headed straight for our terminal there.  All I did at the Indy south side truck stops was occasionally get fuel.

Offline tp4tissue

• * Destiny Supporter
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 23 August 2016, 03:43:55 »
What's the range on these CB radios designed for Trucks.

Offline volvo244t