Author Topic: How actually durable switches are?  (Read 1842 times)

Offline Leopard223

How actually durable switches are?
« on: Sat, 08 May 2021, 20:04:02 »
Let's say I'm using an MX tactile switch such as Kailh BOX Jade switch or a tactile switch such as the panda variant Boba U4T, I know this switches are rated for millions of keystrokes (usually 50m), but would they feel the same after 50 million presses? 
People get a backup board, but do they get backup switch packs?
« Last Edit: Sat, 08 May 2021, 20:11:31 by Leopard223 »

Offline MIGHTY CHICKEN

• buck buck, cluck cluck, squawk squawk
Re: How actually durable switches are?
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 08 May 2021, 23:07:14 »
Would def not feel the same.

I'm not an expert anything, but I assume the spring would be the first to give? This means bork, and if you replaced it, the switch would probably feel much smoother after millions of breaking in presses. I also do have backup boards, switches not really as I don't think I would ever use a switch that much to the point of needing more, I would likely have already changed boards/switches.

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 08 May 2021, 23:19:41 »
At 50m key presses, if you had 10,000 key presses a day, your switch would last for about 13.5 years. The spring or the copper leaf is what would likely wear out. Most of the packs I get I have a few extra than what the board uses.

Offline Leopard223

« Reply #3 on: Sun, 09 May 2021, 20:20:02 »
I'm wondering if those tests also include switch feel, 50m is well above and beyond, but I wonder if the switches will feel the same after couple of years, assuming my boards will survive that long.
I was thinking more about the stems wearing out, the BOX stem notch and the tactile MX bump, thinking about getting backup packs.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 09 May 2021, 20:24:25 »
Switches rarely feel the same at 1000 presses compared to what they do at 1 or 2.
By 1mil they should have smoothed out on the plastic a bit.