Author Topic: Absolutely god-awful theoretical switch designs  (Read 11506 times)

Offline mizzoperator

• "This can't be good for me, but I feel great!"
    • Milk Time: The Mizz Domain
Absolutely god-awful theoretical switch designs
« on: Fri, 04 October 2019, 08:55:42 »
Since this is more of a funposting thing rather than a serious discussion, I'm dropping this thread in Off Topic.

Have you guys ever just thought of some really awful theoretical switch designs, just for a laugh? I have, because I'm crazy.
Yesterday, I was messing with a paper clip and a spare rubber dome keycap I had laying around while on break;
my idea was to basically make the sequel to the Razer Ornata but somehow even worse!

The basic design would include something like a small outer housing that fits onto the mounting end of the keycap and a clickbar sort of hooked into said outer housing and scraping up against the side of it with every keypress. Keep in mind, I'm not an engineer and I have no idea how to pull this off.

The kicker here would be that clickbar only generates the click because it's violently being scraped up and down the side of the mounting end's outer housing.
Not only would this never work properly ever, but it would definitely break very quickly too. It would probably produce a strange stiff and aggravating key-feel, due to having to shove the "clickbar" up and down. Additionally, the click probably wouldn't even be audible unless you really mashed down and you STILL wouldn't get any real feeling of tactility. The rubber domes used are also extra mushy because the keyboard/switch manufacturer hates you.

I call these "Mirukumon GID Switches" (or Mad Max Switches), GID being short for "God is Dead" of course. :p
The alternative name is Mad Max Switches because this is the kind of low-effort hack you'd do to your keyboard in the
post-apocalypse with limited knowledge and materials, just to get something that kind of resembles a mech.