Author Topic: [1st mech keyboard] The Trigger Has Been Pulled!  (Read 7006 times)

Offline xquisit

[1st mech keyboard] The Trigger Has Been Pulled!
« on: Tue, 13 March 2012, 19:58:15 »
Dear Geekhack,
        I'm glad to join your community, and I was hoping to ask a generic..yet, impotant question (to me, at least):

For $100-$125 USD which mechanical keyboard would you suggest?

Before I get into switches:
-I prefer a keyboard with no numeric keypad
-Color is not an issue, but I would like to change keycaps someday (just an assumption)
-I don't want to get use to a compact layout <- Afraid it will take more getting use to than a new mouse if it was a diff. layout
-Backlit is not an issue, if it has one I'm willing to dish out a little bit more money
-I barely use F1-F12 keys, and I suppose there will be function keys on the keyboard recommended

Switches:
(I've read the OCN mechanical keyboard guide, so I am a complete rookie)
-Sound is not an issue, If I'm that serious about gaming... I will just have more than one keyboard (can't afford to do that, atm)
-I don't know if I prefer tactile or linear switches, I use a crappy $5 rubberdome (I've been using crappy keyboards all my life)
-I really care about performance, I know it might be minimal.. but in the MMORPG I play, my timing is key (my latency sucks)
-I believe I don't have a heavy hand, and I like to type/game for long periods of time
-I play both MMORPG and FPS (for half a year, I might play one more than the other)

I'm sorry to even ask the key switch question, I know it's preference... I just don't feel like going to Best Buy or Frys, and only having a few mechanical keyboards to chose from (that I believe, are overpriced and not worth my time driving over). I do believe I should go there to at least see how black switches are (since I believe the Blackwidow uses it), but this is more of an online risk to shop for a keyboard.

What I had in mind (originally):