Author Topic: where can I learn more?  (Read 2358 times)

Offline WatchMaker

where can I learn more?
« on: Sun, 23 September 2012, 22:52:08 »
Do you guys have any favorite articles or videos about keyboards?  I'n not even sure what questions to ask specifically since I'm a keyboard noob.  So far I've been reading through a few posts here  mostly using google to learn about ghosting, key jamming & mechanical switches.  I've watch some reviews on Topres & the different MX's.  I read a couple Wikipedia articles too.    Maybe a book recommendation on the history of this stuff would be appreciated.  -Thanks in advance.  :)

Offline sth

• 2 girls 1 cuprubber
Re: where can I learn more?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 23 September 2012, 22:54:44 »
Check out what's on the GH Wiki. It's a WIP but there is some decent info there.
Also, the Deskthority wiki is a massive technical resource that has a lot of information on specific switches and tons of other subjects.
11:48 -!- SmallFry [~SmallFry@unaffiliated/smallfry] has quit [Ping timeout: 245 seconds] ... rest in peace

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 24 September 2012, 01:11:15 »
I recommend just picking a topic (Ghosting, for example) and learning about it, then moving on to another one.

For example: Ghosting. Here's a good writeup I found once (with pictures!)
http://www.dribin.org/dave/keyboard/one_html/

Specifically what ore you interested in? Comparing this to Audio: Some people are big into how things sound, where as others are big into empirical data. Reading reviews and testimonials will give you a wealth of information as to how things "feel" and what They're like, whereas reading force curves and design specifications will give you more "data" to work with. I fond both to be useful.