Author Topic: Best way for someone w/o hardware experience to get into modding?  (Read 1880 times)

Offline sirtetris

• blog / personal website
Best way for someone w/o hardware experience to get into modding?
« on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 17:46:06 »
Keyboards as you can buy them and custom keycaps are all nice and cool, but I'd love to get a bit deeper into the whole modding / hardware shpere of keyboards.

Until now I only fiddled with keymaps, xorg-configs and stuff like that to remap keys ... generally informed myself about the software side of keyboards ...
now, after lurking a bit in the forums and irc and seeing/hearing about all the awesome stuff people here do, I really want to go deeper, get into that hardware stuff.

Only thing is: I have no experience whatsoever. I never soldered anything, have only basic understanding of electronics, etc.

Were would you advise me to start? What guides/tutorials/wik-pages/papers should I read? Are there great video tutorials?
And what about the practical aspect? Are there cheap mechanical keyboards a beginner can buy and play around with to get into modding?

Any input is appreciated! :)

Offline neeb

Re: Best way for someone w/o hardware experience to get into modding?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 18:16:49 »
Following this thread as I'm curious as well. I'm sooo jelly of all the cool stuff people on here do and I honestly don't even know where to try to start lol

Offline tp4tissue

• * Destiny Supporter
  • OmniExpert of: Rice, Top-Ramen, Ergodox, n Females
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 18:33:19 »
What cool stuff. Most every one here are just fashion followers. Very few have actually come up with anything "original"

Offline neeb

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 28 September 2012, 18:44:06 »
What cool stuff. Most every one here are just fashion followers. Very few have actually come up with anything "original"

There's still a lot of people that do custom mods and different DIY stuff though

Offline sirtetris