Author Topic: Unreliable cherry brown keys  (Read 3710 times)

Offline Boozebeard

Unreliable cherry brown keys
« on: Sat, 15 June 2013, 08:36:18 »
Hey, I have a filco keyboard with cherry brown switches that I've been using for a couple of years now and recently I've found that a couple of keys have started becoming unreliable in the sense that they do not register some key strokes. Is this common, is there a way to fix it?

Offline IvanIvanovich

• Mr. Silk Underwear
Re: Unreliable cherry brown keys
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 15 June 2013, 08:40:22 »
Everything wears out eventually. You can desolder and replace the worn out keyswitches.

Offline AKIMbO

• HHKBro
  • Know Topre, Know Peace. No Topre, No Peace.
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 15 June 2013, 08:47:15 »
Everything wears out eventually. You can desolder and replace the worn out keyswitches.
What ivan said is your best bet to fix the switch.  Your other option is to get some electrical contact cleaner and flood the switch with it.....this would work only if something, be it dirt or debris, is preventing the 2 contacts within the switch from touching.
Mkawa Beta SSK | IBM SSK | IBM Model AT F | IBM F 122 | IBM Unsaver | LZ-GH (62g ergo clears) | HHKB Pro2 Type-S | HHKB Pro2 | Realforce 87U-Silent (55g uniform) | Leopold FC660C | Omnikey 101 (blue alps) | Kingsaver (blue alps) | Zenith ZKB2 (green alps)
| KBD75 (box reds)

Offline BucklingSpring

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 15 June 2013, 10:52:58 »
Deoxit Rules - As Akimbo said... Does not fix what is broken but might restore a bad contact due to dirt-debris-oxidation

What ivan said is your best bet to fix the switch.  Your other option is to get some electrical contact cleaner and flood the switch with it.....this would work only if something, be it dirt or debris, is preventing the 2 contacts within the switch from touching.

In memory of smallfry 1996-2013
Boards I own, click ->
More