Author Topic: Working at a Physics research facility this summer..  (Read 1374 times)

Offline McWilloughby

Working at a Physics research facility this summer..
« on: Sun, 11 August 2013, 06:49:11 »
Hi there. This summer I'm working at DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron), a particle physics/photon science research facility in Hamburg about the size of a small village. While here, I have access to a large range of areas that most people won't ever get a chance to see and it occurred to me that people on geekhack might be interested in seeing the kind of equipment and engineering that goes into large scale scientific research. Also, if anyone has any questions relating to these areas of Physics, I'll do my best to answer them (I'm a final year undergraduate masters student so my knowledge isn't exactly amazing) or find someone who knows the answer. Finally, myself and the other students working here this summer have (relatively) open access to the whole site so if there is anything specific you'd like to see, I can always see if I can get in there.

Anyways, to start, I'll post a couple of the photos I've taken so far.

This is the HERA (Hadron-Electron Ring Accelerator) tunnel. It was shut down in 2007 because with there was little need for it when the LHC went online. I believe they're currently trying to think of something to use it for so they don't have to fill in the tunnel again.

This is part of the XFEL (X-ray Free Electron Laser) currently being built. It starts at DESY and is a 3.4 km long tunnel with an accelerator inside to create very high energy laser light. The tunnel is split at several points resulting in 5 endpoints for the laser, this will allow multiple experiments to run at the same time using the laser rather than just one.