Author Topic: Trackball dilemma  (Read 5651 times)

Offline thehothit

Trackball dilemma
« on: Wed, 06 November 2013, 20:38:14 »
I'm looking for some advice regarding getting a trackball.  I've been using a Logitech Performance Mouse MX for about 1.5 years, but am experiencing elbow and forearm pain in my right arm.  I've tried a Vertical Mouse (can't move it finely enough), Trackman Marble (ball feels too small and not enough dpi) and a RollerMouse Re:d (got on well with it, but can't justify the cost).

I love the Performance Mouse MX.  It really allows me to move around 2 high res monitors (2560x1440 & 1900x1200) very quickly and accurately.  I love using the scroll wheel, too.

I'm thinking about getting one of the following:

Expert Mouse
CST 2545 - 5W (Worried about the placement of the scroll bar)
Microsoft Trackball Explorer

I'm a programmer, and spend a lot of time in Visual Studio and browsers.

Which Trackball would you choose?

Many thanks for any advice.

Offline vun

• Just one more thing
Re: Trackball dilemma
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 07 November 2013, 02:10:06 »
I'd have to say CST since you mention you want to move between two high res monitors quickly, and CST are the ones who make the highest dpi trackballs. I don't know the Expert dpi off the top of my head, but the Slimblade might also have enough dpi for your needs, I'm not sure how much dpi you want.

Offline thehothit

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 07 November 2013, 07:34:55 »
Thanks for your reply.

I've had the CST in my shopping cart at many different times.  I'm concerned about the scroll wheel.  I've read that it's hard to reach, and that scares me a little.  I've become somewhat addicted to scroll wheels!

Offline vun

• Just one more thing
« Reply #3 on: Thu, 07 November 2013, 08:27:41 »
Thanks for your reply.