Author Topic: Difference between switch colours?  (Read 4399 times)

Offline greyhame

Difference between switch colours?
« on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 05:36:26 »
Hi guys,
I'm a total newb at this, but here goes:
Can anyone explain to me the difference between the colours of switches? I've read several posts and reviews labelling brown, blue, and black switches and I know they have to do with how hard you have to press in order to type, but can anyone give me more detail? I've heard blue switches are best for typing, but are they? Are browns just as good?
I suppose it could just be subjective but any insight is very much appreciated!

Offline Photekq

• wheat flour zone
  • sorry if i was ever an ******* to you
Re: Difference between switch colours?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 05:41:30 »
It is entirely subjective. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

Check this out : http://deskthority.net/wiki/Cherry_MX

Also, welcome to geekhack.
https://kbdarchive.org/
github
discord: hi mum#5710

Offline ideus

• * Exalted Elder
  • Björkö.
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 06:13:33 »
Get a tester and try them for yourself. It is always better to experience them directly, even if it is only one switch of each one.

Offline greyhame

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 07:28:32 »
Thanks guys for the welcome and advice :)
am currently looking for places to try them out right now, times like these it  sucks living in a country town...

Offline ideus

• * Exalted Elder
  • Björkö.
« Reply #4 on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 10:04:52 »
If you can try a full board with each type of switch that would be the best way to go.

Offline Stevenator21

« Reply #5 on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 12:02:57 »
You can get this switch tester. If you decide to get a CM Board, you can get $15 off, which is the price of the tester.
Ducky Shine 3 TKL w/ Browns + White LEDs

Offline ideus

• * Exalted Elder
  • Björkö.
« Reply #6 on: Mon, 30 December 2013, 12:30:25 »