Author Topic: Aluminum VS Brass Opinions  (Read 11455 times)

Offline captainish

Aluminum VS Brass Opinions
« on: Tue, 06 February 2018, 22:12:24 »
Hey guys,
I have been typing on Topre at home and blacks at work for about 3 years now. I hate clicky, and I waver between linear and tactile.  Thinking about jumping on the Mars 8.0 TKL and I want to know your opinions on aluminum VS brass plates and weights. It would be great if anyone who lives in New England with both would be ok with meeting up for a test drive.

Until then, tell me which I should consider and why.
« Last Edit: Tue, 06 February 2018, 22:17:35 by captainish »

Offline Puddsy

• nice
  • * Elated Elder
  • "Do you shovel to survive, or survive to shovel?"
Re: Aluminum VS Brass Opinions
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 06 February 2018, 23:03:21 »
Hey guys,
I have been typing on Topre at home and blacks at work for about 3 years now. I hate clicky, and I waver between linear and tactile.  Thinking about jumping on the Mars 8.0 TKL and I want to know your opinions on aluminum VS brass plates and weights. It would be great if anyone who lives in New England with both would be ok with meeting up for a test drive.

many people prefer brass because of the sound

personally i prefer alu because anodized alu doesn't tarnish and i don't really care about sound
QFR | MJ2 TKL | "Bulgogiboard" (Keycon 104) | ctrl.alt x GON 60% | TGR Alice | Mira SE #29 | Mira SE #34 | Revo One | z | Keycult No. 1 | First CW87 prototype | Mech27v1 | Camp C225 | Duck Orion V1 | LZ CLS sxh | Geon Frog TKL | Hiney TKL One | Geon Glare TKL

"Everything is worse, but in a barely perceptible and indefinable way" -dollartacos, after I came back from a break | "Is Linkshine our Nixon?" -NAV | "Puddsy is the Puddsy of keebs" -ns90

Offline p_blaze

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 06 February 2018, 23:06:51 »
Hey guys,

personally i prefer alu because anodized alu doesn't tarnish and i don't really care about sound

I thought PVD brass doesn't tarnish